Couch to 5K Week 2 Results

I have officially finished my second week of the Couch to 5K training program. ::crowd cheers:: Oh stop. But please, go on. ::crowd cheers even louder:: Thank you. Thank you. You’re far too kind.

20121224-114912.jpgWhat is the Couch to 5K program? Well it’s a 9 week training schedule that is designed to get you running 30 mins or 5K by the end of the program. They have a nifty little mobile app to help track your progress and keep you motivated. My trainer is Sergeant Block. He is exactly what I need. Nice people don’t motivate me.

Does it work? I’ll let you know in 7 more weeks. However, so far I only have good things to say about it. Of course the first week was hell. I almost died 3 times during the first week of work outs. I’m pretty sure I saw my life flash before my eyes. Anyway, I stuck with it and look at me! I am 2 weeks in and I am ready (and slightly excited) for week 3!! I did learn a few things during the first two weeks:

1. Running in sweats will never be an option again. Once I tried some leggings and realized that I am super warm… I will never go back. Not to mention, I look cute. Lol

2. Music matters. If you scroll the the bottom of the blog you will see our spotify playlist. I think my favorite song on there is “Heads Will Roll”. If I didn’t have music, I have no clue how successful I would be. Feel free to make suggestions.

3. Kicks matter more. When I started I just used a pair of kicks that I had in my closet. They aren’t super old or heavily used. I looked them up recently and they are classified as running shoes. But I noticed that every day that I ran my legs hurt A LOT. I thought I needed more support. I started doing research and was looking for shoes with a lot of cushion. I went to Dick’s and realized that the associates are exactly what the name of the store suggests. No help whatsoever. Meh. I figured I needed a new pair of shoes and yesterday I gave in. I found these Saucony Kinvara 2s:

20121224-115608.jpg

They are super comfy and they were on sale. #runningonabudget. Obviously, you can see how bright they are. I picked that color in an effort to prevent getting hit by a car while I am running in the darkness of early morning or late at night. So I tried them out last night and would you believe that I felt MUCH BETTER during and after the run? More importantly, I didn’t get hit by a car! I finished the whole workout without stopping. That’s huge for me. Great job super cool and super bright kicks!

20121224-120028.jpgIn addition to the Couch to 5K app, I also use the Nike+ Running app simultaneously. It’s cool because it tracks my progress and goals. I can also connect with friends who are also being active. I don’t have any friends on the app yet. 😦 Feel free to find me: username: Buxxy. I also like the Power Song feature… but I will save that for another post.

Running alone is as hard as stale bread. This entire journey is mental. I have to talk to myself or write about it in order to stay motivated. I bet people think that I am crazy when they see me singing or giving myself a pep talk while running. Oh well. Whatever it takes, right?

Curse you Corin and Steph for living so far!!! ::shakes fist angrily::

Well, that’s all the updates I have for now. Happy holidays to everyone and wish me luck on week 3!

About Buxxy

Just a student loan baby trying to make it in an cold cold world....
This entry was posted in Runner's Log and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

